ROCKinsights Members

Noteworthy Now

The Rock Hall of Fame got this year's list of inductees mostly right by side stepping almost every out of genre act (N.W.A. was the exception), but two of the ones going in are problematic.  Steve Miller gets in, but the Steve Miller Band has included more than two dozen members over the years, so he's in essentially as a solo artist.  Deep Purple has been somewhat less of a revolving door, but has still seen plenty of turnover.  Lead singer Ian Gillan is voicing strong resentment about the Hall's decision to exclude a couple of members in particular, Steve Morse and Don Airey. Guitarist Morse has been a member of DP since 1994.  Airey became the keyboard player 14 years ago after Jon Lord retired.  While they have longevity, the Hall's decision to focus on the members when the band was writing, recording and performing the music that most earned them the consideration as inductees is understandable.  Getting honored on April 8 at the Barclays Center will be Gillan, Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord, Ian Paice, Roger Glover, David Coverdale, Glenn Hughes and Rod Evans.